Thanks For Using The Performance of a Lifetime!

Chatroom Auctions & Paid Classifides DDDPL's Additional Job Search

FAQ
Last visit was: Sun Nov 19, 2017 5:44 pm
It is currently Sun Nov 19, 2017 5:44 pm

[ 1 post ] 
 Getting An Actor, Manager and Agent to All Work Together 

Post Getting An Actor, Manager and Agent to All Work Together
Getting an actor, manager and agent to all work together
By Brent Mather Swan

Can you explain how an actor, manger and agent all work together?

First let me preface my remarks: I am not a lawyer and all my comments are from my experience as a SAG Talent Agent, from what I know of entertainment law and practices. Some of the information is fact and some is informed opinion.

To answer this question let me first define each role. I’ll skip to the agent first:

A Theatrical Talent Agent (booking agent) takes bookings for entertainment industry jobs; primarily union affiliated productions. Their primary job is to receive casting calls for the actor and to make sure the actor gets the information they need to arrive at their auditions. Additionally, it is the agent’s privilege to facilitate the signing of union contracts between the production company and actor or in depended lawyer or on the actor’s behalf. By law talent agents are bound to a 10% commission on a union job. Strictly speaking, it is not their job to solicit work for, or to educate their clients or to develop an actor’s career. Agent's cannot produce productions and are not supposed to manage their clients. Agents will bend those rules if their client is making a significant amount of money for them.

Agents would love to do nothing more than sign contracts all day because that’s all they get paid for. But that is not reality. Agents mostly do submissions all day and coordinate phone calls and auditions. As a rule, agents don’t like managers because, generally a manager’s influence overrides theirs with the actor.