Thanks For Using The Performance of a Lifetime!

Chatroom Auctions & Paid Classifides DDDPL's Additional Job Search

Last visit was: Mon Jun 18, 2018 3:08 pm
It is currently Mon Jun 18, 2018 3:08 pm

 [ 1 post ] 
 2011 Cricket World Cup in Asia 
Author Message
User avatar

Joined: Mon Sep 13, 2010 1:47 pm
Posts: 45372
Post 2011 Cricket World Cup in Asia
2011 Cricket World Cup in Asia
by: Smart traveler

The 2011 Cricket World Cup will be the 10th version of this prestigious tournament and it will be hosted by three cricket playing nations in South Asia: India, Bangladesh, and Sri Lanka. It is the first occasion for Bangladesh that they are co-hosting the Cricket World Cup. The 2011 Cricket World Cup will be following the One Day International (ODI) Pattern of cricket and 14 teams will participate in the tournament.

The World Cup will start on February 19 and continue till April 2, 2011. The first match has been scheduled to be played on February 19, 2011 and it will be played between India and Bangladesh at Sher-e-Bangla National Stadium at Mirpur, Dhaka.

Opening Ceremony of 2011 Cricket World Cup

The opening ceremony of the world cup will take place on February 17, 2011, two days ahead of the beginning of the tournament. The venue for the opening ceremony of the world cup is Bangabandhu National Stadium in Dhaka, Bangladesh. The final is scheduled to be played on April 2, 2011 at Wankhede Stadium in Mumbai.

Format of the World Cup

In 2007, the host countries concurred about a modified format for the World Cup to be held in 2011, which is similar to the 1996 Cricket World Cup. The sole difference is that in 1996, there were 12 teams and in 2011 version of the game, there are 14 teams. The first round of the World Cup will be a round robin where 14 teams will be split into two groups of seven teams each. All the seven teams will play one another once and the best performing four teams will be eligible for the quarterfinal matches. The format makes sure that every team gets the opportunity to play at least six matches although they are excluded from the tournament because of early losses.

Teams for the 2011 Cricket World Cup

The teams for the world cup are as follows:

Group A


Sri Lanka




New Zealand


Group B






South Africa

West Indies

Umpires for the World Cup

The following umpires will officiate in the upcoming cricket tournament:


Steve Davis

Simon Taufel

Daryl Harper

Rod Tucker

Bruce Oxenford

New Zealand

Tony Hill

Billy Bowden

South Africa

Marais Erasmus


Asad Rauf

Aleem Dar


Amish Saheba

Shavir Tarapore


Richard Kettleborough

Ian Gould

Nigel Llong

Sri Lanka

Kumar Dharmasena

Asoka de Silva

West Indies

Billy Doctrove from Dominica

Venues for the World Cup

The venues of the forthcoming world cup are given below:


Eden Gardens - Capacity: 82,000 (being upgraded)

M. A. Chidambaram Stadium - Capacity: 46,000 (being upgraded)

Feroz Shah Kotla - Capacity: 48,000

Punjab Cricket Association Stadium - Capacity: 35,000

Vidarbha CricketAssociation Stadium - Capacity: 45,000

Sardar Patel Stadium - Capacity: 50,000

Wankhede Stadium - Planned Capacity: 45,000 (being upgraded)

M. Chinnaswamy Stadium Bangalore Capacity- : 42,000

Sri Lanka

R. Premadasa Stadium - Capacity: 35,000 (being upgraded)

Muttiah Muralitharan International Cricket Stadium - Capacity: 35,000

(new stadium)

Mahinda Rajapaksa International Stadium - Capacity: 37,000 (new stadium)


Chittagong Divisional Stadium - Capacity: 20,000

Sher-e-Bangla Cricket Stadium - Capacity: 35,000


The ICC Cricket World Cup Trophy is a running trophy and it is awarded to the winning team from 1999. It was devised by Garrard & Co in only a period of two months. The ICC keeps the original trophy at its head office in Dubai. The winning team is awarded a replica. The only dissimilarity between the two trophies is that the original trophy has the names of all the past winners emblazoned on it.

Prize money

The winner of this edition of the cricket world cup would be getting a jackpot of US$ 3 million and for the runner-up, the prize money is US$ 1.5 million. The International Cricket Council (ICC) has made a decision to double the overall allotment for the popular tournament to US$ 10 million. It was decided at the board meeting of ICC, which took place on April 20, 2010 in Dubai.

About The Author
Cricket world cup 2011 going to be co-hosted between India, Bangladesh and Sri Lanka is going to be a big event n 2011. The matches are going to start on 19th February 2011 and will end with final on 2nd April in Mumbai. ... -world-cup
The author invites you to visit:

Copyright © 2001-Present by
This article was posted by permission.

Fri Feb 11, 2011 3:49 pm
 [ 1 post ] 

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 0 guests

You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

Jump to:  

Powered by phpBB © 2000, 2002, 2005, 2007 phpBB Group.
Designed by ST Software for PTF.